Alexander American University
School of Medicine

Toll Free: 1800 2700 455

Guyana is South America's little-known curiosity that lies between Suriname, Brazil and Venezuela. It is the only English speaking country in South America and covers an area of 83,000 square miles. Guyana is derived from an Indigenous Amerindian language and means "land of many waters". The Caribbean Community (CARICOM), of which Guyana is a member, is headquartered in Guyana's capital and largest city, Georgetown. English is the official language of Guyana and is used for education, government, media, and services. The main economic activities in Guyana are agriculture (production of rice and Demerara sugar), bauxite mining, gold mining, timber, shrimp fishing and minerals.

The present population of Guyana is racially and ethnically heterogeneous, with ethnic groups originating from India, Africa, Europe, and China, as well as indigenous or aboriginal peoples. Despite their diverse ethnic backgrounds, these groups share two common languages: English and Creole. Most Indo-Guyanese are descended from Bhojpuri-speaking Bihari and Uttar Pradesh migrants. Many Indo-Guyanese are also descended Tamil speaking Tamils from Tamil Nadu, and Telugus of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh in South India.

Guyana, an Amerindian word meaning 'Land of Many Waters' has numerous rivers.

Read More

During the visit to Guyana there are few attractions that one should not miss.

Read More

Guyanese cuisine is a culinary hybrid with African, East Indian, Portuguese.

Read More